We’re Still Reaching

Last night, we held our Mozambique fundraiser with about 16 of our friends, complete with chicken spaghetti, garlic bread and brownies. We played the documentary “Furious Love” which is so good that it simply needed to be seen despite whether a single dollar was raised for our trip or not. So at this point, we’ve been blessed with a grand total of $3,384! A huge amount, but we still have much more to go before we hit our goal of $9,000. The number itself is quite intimidating. Even if we never reach our goal though, I think that $3,384 is still quite a blessing in itself. Many people gave extravagantly, and we are so thankful to them. But is it okay to settle with “quite a blessing”, or do I push myself to have faith for what we actually asked God for? One seems like I’m being ungrateful, while the other seems like I’m lacking in faith.

Asking for support is a strange thing in and of itself. I can only image how full-time missionaries feel who do this month after month. The reliance upon others and the humility that it forces upon you. I’ve barely even caught a glimpse of it, yet there are those who must face it every day. I can only image how difficult that must be for someone. It’s actually a little more difficult accepting money from those you love than I would have first imagined. Now, I have no problem taking 10 bucks from someone. That’s not what I’m talking about. It’s the widow’s mite that I’m referring to. Those who I know are giving out of their need. Those few who I know are stretching themselves in faith, who are feeling a little ouch from it, but who still say yes not only to us, but to Jesus himself. In a way, a part of me doesn’t want to accept their money at all, knowing how much they too need it. Yet the other part of me knows the law of sewing and reaping. And to actually deny someone the opportunity to sow and to be blessed by the Lord through it would be much more of a travesty than any amount of money they could ever give. So, I guess in the end, it’s a win-win for every party involved. Yet it is only through faith that a giver gives. Not the seen, the measurable, the probable or the practical. A true giver is a true believer.

So 34 days left to go, and $5,616 more to raise. Is that possible? Can we really reach a goal that high?  I guess only time will tell. But for now, Adam and I have a part to play in it. I wish our job was simply to wait. Oh, if only it were that easy. No, no, we’re supposed to have FAITH. Faith that the Lord will provide. Active faith. Daily faith. And not only that, but to actually believe God at His word that He “is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us”- Ephesians 3:20. Now that really stretches me! But I guess that’s what He’s after anyway, isn’t it? Isn’t that what this trip is all about? The stretching, the growing, the reaching for more? He just won’t let me forget that, no matter where we are in the process. Oh no, He’s not waiting until I’m on that first plane ride and it’s an actual reality and I’m asking myself if I can really make it a month in Africa! No, He starts now.

No, wait…

It’s bigger than that. It started the day He began forming me in my mother’s womb. I’m suddenly hit with the sweet reality that He has been my life companion. He’s been with me all along. He has never left me. It’s not just the story of my life, it’s HIS story. It’s all about Him. Lord, let me be an open book for you. Let my life be about YOU, not about me. Let it be you who is magnified and glorified through it. All praise and honor and glory be to Jesus, the precious lamb who was slain so that I could have life. For “I have been crucified with Christ ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.”- Galations 2:20

~Jennifer

Leave a Reply

