The Fear of God

In one week, I will touch down on the soil of Africa, the continent that has moved my heart so much over my lifetime and especially during the last five years.  I will finally be there!  I always knew I would find my way there one day.  The Lord spoke to me within my first year of surrendering my life over to Him about Africa, and specifically Uganda.  At the time, I did not even know where Uganda was located or one iota of information about the place.  Now I will physically be there with my wife and Jesus!

I feel waves of excitement about this but found that fear has been my main emotional companion in relation to the trip.  Not the fear of sickness, long travel, our home, absence from my dog, or the unknowns of being on a foreign continent… but the fear of the Lord.  He has made it abundantly clear that we are supposed to be in that place at this exact time.  He is sending us.  It is not our own doing.  Sure, we agreed to say “yes” to Him, but He has spoken, opened the door and created the possibility of this adventure with Him.  What will happen?  How will our hearts be opened? How will He encounter us?  What will He ask of us?  I do not know the answer to these questions, but I do know that our level of accountability goes up post-Africa.  More will be required of us.  I want to be found wholly faithful to what Jesus is leading us into, both internally and externally.  I fear Him, because at the end of this life I will stand before Him. It is at that time that I will give an account of the status of my heart and what I did with the revelation that was given to me.  I want to be able to stand before Him with confidence and love without any ribbon of regret.  His opinion is the only one that matters, and it cannot be altered.  This is a terrifying reality.  I will need lots of grace, the kind that only Jesus gives so liberally, in order to finish the race and be found fully faithful on that day.

~Adam

One response to “The Fear of God

  1. “Father, I lift this young couple before you. They have a call upon their lives. They sense you are now sending them to a particular part of Africa. Their heart is to serve you in a very particular way. I join them in presenting themselves to you, and in laying their hearts and lives on your altar, for the will of God.”

    Kent Newman
    Missionary

Leave a Reply

