He prowls like a roaring lion

“Be of sober spirit, be on the alert. Your adversary, the devil, prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.” – 1 Peter 5:8

As I hear about the goodness of God to others, I rejoice. Yet lurking in the dark corners of my mind, I can hear lies from the enemy. Not “Is God good?”, but “Is God good to me?”

The list often goes something like this:

  • God loves them more than you.
  • Those kinds of things happen to those kinds of people, but never you.
  • You are not as favored as other people are.
  • This is because of your sin that you are not as favored.
  • God’s hand is not truly on your life.

It’s not hard to see why the Bible says, “For we dare not class ourselves or compare ourselves with those who commend themselves. But they, measuring themselves by themselves, and comparing themselves among themselves, are not wise.” -2 Corinthians 10:12

The lies and accusations will come. They always do. The prowling devil never rests.

The question is, what will I do about it?

A choice is laid before me, and I will always choose 1 or the other, whether I realize it or not. There is no neutral ground. I can either 1) Agree with the lies & thus give it authority over me, to control me, tie my hands & legs & keep me in bondage, or 2) I can be intentional about seeing it for what it is- a lie and not truth- meant to ensnare me. I break my agreement with the lie & I rebuke it in the name of Jesus. I declare that I will stand upon truth.

Those are the decisions that we are forced to make on a daily basis, that in time, define & shape who we are.

Do you know of someone who you greatly admire & look up to? Perhaps someone who is a world-changer, a mighty man or woman of God? I guarantee they are fighting the same battle as you from day to day. What sets a victorious warrior apart from a defeated one is how they choose to react to the lies.

The war is happening. You make your choice.

4 responses to “He prowls like a roaring lion

  1. Thank you Jennifer! I needed to hear this today!

  2. We just studied Jude this Sunday and it was just along these lines. We have to be aware that the Devil is out to make us doubt. Doubt ourselves, doubt what God is doing in our lives, doubt our spouse or marriage. We have to be strong in our faith and in who Christ is. And as you said cry out to Him and pray because God loves us so much. Thank Jennifer for pointing out these verses!

  3. That passage in 2 Cor has been sounding-off in my mind continuously the last few weeks! Thanks for posting this.

  4. Awesome! Thanks for sharing – I needed to read this!

Leave a Reply

